Litchfield Budget Committee | Meeting Summary | Dec 9th, 2021

The Litchfield Budget Committee held a meeting at Town Hall on December 9th at 7pm.  Members in attendance were Andrew Cutter (Chair), John David Son (Vice Chair), Keri Douglas, William Hayes, Derek Barka, Kate Stevens, Christina Harrison (School Board Representative), and Robert Leary (Selectmen Representative). Scott Taylor was absent for this meeting. Also in attendance were School Superintendent Michael Jette and School Business Administrator Cory Izbicki.

Public Input

There was no public input at this meeting.

School Warrant Article Review

The Budget Committee asked additional school budget questions and reviewed the School Board’s proposed warrant article. Details may be found in the meeting minutes here:

The committee discussed the long-standing agreement between the School Board and the Budget Committee to return all funds not spent specifically from the special services budget to the tax payers. Once input from the School Board and legal counsel is obtained the committee will vote on whether to solidify that agreement in writing.

Residents are encouraged to attend Budget Committee meetings in person at Town Hall unless otherwise stated.  Public input is also invited before meetings via email to Chair Andrew Cutter at  Emails must include the commenter’s first and last name and address. 

As a reminder, Budget Committee responses to posts on social media are limited.  Past meetings can be viewed on the LitchfieldTV Youtube channel.

Leave a Reply