Litchfield Budget Committee | Meeting Summary | Oct 7, 2021

The Litchfield Budget Committee held a meeting at Town Hall on October 7th at 7pm.  Members in attendance were Andrew Cutter (Chair), John David Son (Vice Chair), Keri Douglas, William Hayes, Derek Barka, Scott Taylor, Christina Harrison (School Board Representative), and Robert Leary (Selectmen Representative). Absent member was Kate Stevens. Also in attendance were Town Administrator Troy Brown, Chair of ZBA Laura Gandia, Director of Technology John Brunelle, Library Trustee Chairperson Donna Ferguson, Library Director Vicki Varick.

Public Input

There was no public input at this meeting.

Town Business Report provided by Town Administrator Brown

The Town has been working with the Capital Improvement Plan, the School District, and the Library. Impact Fees will be reviewed. The Town planned to use $65,000 of impact fees toward the 2022 Fire Station bond payment. This will be reflected as a reduction in the bond payment budget line, not revenue or an additional principal payment. The bond does not allow for additional principal payments or refinancing for ten years.

The following department budgets were reviewed at this meeting:

  • 4241.20 – Code Enforcement
  • 4411.10 – Health Department
  • 4520.10 – Parks and Recreation
  • 4191.30 – Zoning Board
  • 4550.20 – Library
  • 4195.10 – Cemetaries
  • 4411.20 – Mosquito District
  • 4194.10 – General Governmental Facilities
  • 4150.20 – Information Technology
  • 4140.10 – Town Clerk

Residents are encouraged to attend Budget Committee meetings in person at Town Hall unless otherwise stated.  Public input is also invited before meetings via email to Chair Andrew Cutter at  Emails must include the commenter’s first and last name and address. 

As a reminder, Budget Committee responses to posts on social media are limited.  Past meetings can be viewed on the LitchfieldTV Youtube channel.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: